What You Need to Know About Driving Without a License

Driving without a license is a traffic violation that can result in a number of consequences. From a correctable ticket to a Class E felony, the violation truly depends on the details of your driving record. Continue reading to discover what you should know about driving without a license.

Typical Violations

License-related violations are relatively common and are often honest mistakes.  Citations you may receive include:

  • Driving without a physical license
  • Driving with an expired license
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Driving with a revoked license
  • Failure to apply for a state-issued license without the time limit

Correctable Citations

Depending on your violation, the police officer may issue a “fix-it-ticket,” or a correctable citation. This serves as motivation to “fix” the violation, as you must submit proof of the correction in order for the court to drop the ticket. If you do not submit proof that you have fixed the violation, the court will hold you accountable for the fines associated with the ticket and may assign additional penalties. Typical New York correctable citations range from $40 to $300.

Aggravated Unlicensed Operation

In the state of New York, a purposeful, unlawful license violation is known as an Aggravated Unlicensed Operation (AUO.) Under the state code, AUO violations are classified by the severity of the crime:

  • A 3rd-degree violation refers to the knowing operation of a vehicle with a revoked or suspended license.
  • A 2nd-degree violation can include a variety of offenses, such as driving with previous alcohol infractions, previous suspensions, or failure to appear in court for previous violations.
  • A 1st-degree violation is the most severe category of AUO and is considered a Class E felony. It specifically refers to the unlicensed operation of a vehicle by someone under the influence of drugs or alcohol and has a number of 2nd-degree violations on their record.

An AUO violation if punishable by fines of up to $5,000 and a jail sentence of up to 180 days.

We Can Help You Retain Your Driving Rights

Driving without a license can lead to a number of harsh consequences. Let our legal team at the Law Office of Dennis R. Vetrano, Jr., LLC help you. Our Beacon criminal defense lawyers have years of experience defending New York license violations and have the knowledge to work with you on your case. We work to get your violation reduced or even thrown out, and can help you apply for an occupational license to keep you on the road.

Don’t let your violation disrupt your life. Contact our firm today(845) 605-4330.